giveaway :: hoopla: the art of unexpected embroidery

24 Nov

We are so happy to be working with Leanne Prain and Arsenal Pulp Press again to bring to you this fantastic giveaway of Leanne’s new book, Hoopla: The Art of Unexpected Embroidery.

I have never done much work in the field of embroidery, but I do remember being 10 and collecting a pile of embroidery floss to make friendship bracelets for all of my grade school friends. Those pretty strings of colour, still make my heart flutter, so it’s no secret that I first fell in love with Jenny Hart‘s work which has opened the door to the embroidery world for me.

Flipping through the book, Leanne’s writing is simple and easy to follow. Her book is divided into nicely presented sections ranging from interviews, the history of embroidery, projects and tools and techniques. There’s nothing snobbish or high brow about it either. Whether you have been embroidering for years or just a beginner, Leanne has you covered; teaching you all the basic skills that you can build on.

One of my favourite interviews in the book is with Aubrey Longley-Cook, a mixed media artist that combines the art of embroidery and animation creating images that look like moving objects. Titled, a Manbroiderer, he writes a blog called Spool Spectrum, whose tagline is “Give us this day our daily thread, and lead us knot into temptation”. I also have to give mention to friends Siobhan Long from magpie and cake and Rebekah Nathan from bliss in a teacup who both have projects featured in the book. Oh, and what a surprise when I discovered a pincushion handmade by yours truly on page 112 – hooray!

Want to win your own copy? Leave a comment below and a winner will be randomly chosen on Wednesday, November 30th, 2011 at noon (PST). Winners will be notified by email and their prize will be sent by post.

Contest opened to residents of North America only. UK residents stay tuned for your own giveaway soon!

13 Responses to “giveaway :: hoopla: the art of unexpected embroidery”

  1. Bronwen November 24, 2011 at 18:34 #

    Oh I have wanted this book since I first heard about it!! :) Thanks for the opportunity to win!

  2. erin November 25, 2011 at 01:32 #

    I love radical embroidery! This is a great opportunity to get this book <3

  3. Courtney November 25, 2011 at 03:31 #

    Looks like an awesome book! Thanks for the giveaway!

  4. Franne November 25, 2011 at 05:12 #

    Lovely! That embroidery thread rainbow at the craft store has always left me inspired to try out embroidery. What a great way to start!

  5. Carla November 25, 2011 at 18:13 #

    Definitely adds a new twist on an old creative passion…

  6. Salma Glez November 25, 2011 at 20:00 #

    Hi,
    Thanks for the opportunity to participate in this giveaway.It looks like an awesome book

  7. michellealynn November 25, 2011 at 22:08 #

    Ohmygoodness…I’m an embroidery junkie!! :) Now that I’m in art school, I can’t wait to bust out some illustrations with it, so my fingers are crossed. :) It looks so inspiring!

    -Michelle
    michelle.a.clement@gmail.com

  8. Katie P November 26, 2011 at 05:26 #

    I’m new to embroidery, but the book looks great!

  9. kala November 26, 2011 at 16:19 #

    This book looks awesome, thanks for the chance to win!

  10. Melissa November 27, 2011 at 07:16 #

    Looks like a super fun book! I’d love to win a copy!

  11. Kate November 28, 2011 at 17:51 #

    What a great giveaway! Count me in!

  12. Cheryl Knott November 29, 2011 at 06:31 #

    I’m a big Jenny Hart fan, embroider myself, and this book is on my Christmas wish list.

  13. Laura Walsh November 29, 2011 at 22:44 #

    Lovely!!

Leave a Reply

