featured artist :: cabin + cub

19 Aug

from the archives: 19.10.09

name: Valerie Thai
company: cabin + cub
links: shop | blog | flickr

What do you make?
I make woodburned art panels, collages, art prints, as well as notebooks and cards.

What or who inspires you?
I seem to draw inspiration from all over the place – my husband, my family and friends, the environment, music, art, pop culture, food…. oh this list could get very long indeed!

How did you get started?
My mom was always very much into art and design, so I was always drawn to the artistic side of things. As soon as I picked up a crayon and scissors, I think the craftiness began and it has snowballed every since.

What are your favourite materials to work with?
My favorite materials are wood and paper…. so I guess I really love trees. I love the way woodburning smells (it smells like a campfire).. and the look of all things wood. Same goes with paper… I can be in a paper store, like Paper-Ya for hours at a time.

What is the hardest and most favourite part of crafting?
Hardest would be finding time to do it, since I also work as a freelance designer for a living. My favorite part is getting to be creative and working with my hands… its nice to get away from the computer.

Do you have any advice for those in the biz?
Create things that you enjoy making… it is no fun making things that become just a chore. And also to be patient and work hard… things will fall into place.

Do you consider yourself an artist or a crafter?
Ah yes, the old age debate. I don’t like conflict, so I like having the two co-existing as well as intermingling…. so yes, I do consider myself both an artist and a crafter (oh, as well as a designer)… so that is a third category to throw into the mix.

images via cabin + cub

If you are interested in being featured, please send us an email at info(at)gotcraft(dot)com.

Leave a Reply

