giveaway :: mollie makes

8 Jun

I’m not normally a girl that purchases magazines, but lately, I seem to find myself subscribing to a handful of publications such as Uppercase, Anthology and now, Mollie Makes. Each issue is packed full of quality images and amazing content making them into mini collector books instead of magazines that you glance a few times before they sit in the recycle box.

photo via flickr by CaraFreckles

With each sold out store that I visited, it just made me * that * more anxious to get my hands on my own copy of Mollie Makes and finally found an issue a few weeks ago. As I leafed through the pages, I was definitely impressed. Pretty pictures? Yes. Easy tutorials? Yes. Great articles about what’s happening in the DIY world? Absolutely!

For their first issue, Mollie Makes teamed up with contributors such as Tif Fussell aka Dottie Angel, Alexandra Smith aka Lola Nova and Elisabeth Dunker aka Fine Little Day to name a few. It includes a handy diary listing all the places to check out for the upcoming month including vintage and craft events throughout the UK. And, if that wasn’t enough, it also includes super easy to follow tutorials for making your own apple cozies, projects using ruffles, garlands, fabric eggs and a sly felt fox. My favourites were reading about Charlotte Macey, a young British Designer specializing in freestyle embroidery on natural linen and cotton and the sneak peek inside the home of Paula Mills where she talks about her eclectic style and found treasures.

To celebrate the release of issue #2 on June 9th (UK), Got Craft is giving away a copy of issue #1 of Mollie Makes to one lucky reader. Just leave a comment below or send us an email to info (at) gotcraft (dot) com telling us what inspires you and don’t forget to leave an email address that we can contact you at! Contest is open to readers worldwide and a winner will be randomly chosen on Wednesday, June 15th at noon GMT.

19 Responses to “giveaway :: mollie makes”

  1. stephfaye June 8, 2011 at 11:46 #

    It might sound weird, but anything old and abandoned really inspires me – cars and buildings left rotting in a field, unwanted stuff tossed in piles in back alleys. It makes me think about their story and what made their owner decide they weren’t worthy of their love anymore. And for some reason that inspires me to create. :)

  2. sabrina p. June 8, 2011 at 13:15 #

    my inspiration is the people i create for. nothing gives me more satisfaction than to have someone excited about something i am making for them!! i love it!!

  3. Vanessa June 8, 2011 at 13:33 #

    I’m inspired by old items that I can refinish, re-purpose, or otherwise reuse. It’s good for the planet and fun all at the same time!

  4. Vangirl June 8, 2011 at 14:05 #

    Crafty bloggers inspire me to go out, get supplies & make things at home. My first & still top inspiration is ljcfyi from Rochester who I’ve been following for a decade.

    Vanchica21 [at] hotmail [dot] com

  5. Taya June 8, 2011 at 14:58 #

    My inspiration comes from colorful things and memories. Even a colorful button or an oddly-shaped box make me think of a project.

  6. paula June 8, 2011 at 17:42 #

    finding the beauty in the everyday inspires me – the leaves shimmering against the big blue sky, the fresh new life bursting through the soil, the supple roundness to an apple, the tones & colours in the rusted pan hanging from the fence post, the smell of old books, the sound of jazz, watching bats at dusk…. each offer their own form of inspiration that is my springboard to creativity.

  7. Michelle Clement June 8, 2011 at 18:10 #

    Eeek – how lovely! :) Colorful yarn and vintage knitting needles and sewing patterns are inspiring me *so much* right now! My fingers are crossed. :)

    -Michelle Clement
    michelle.a.clement@gmail.co,

  8. Carolyn June 8, 2011 at 18:34 #

    I’m inspired by old photographs of people I’ve never met. I like to imagine their lives and make up back stories for them. I guess you could say I have conversations with them and what they tell me inspires me.

  9. Sarah Lucow June 8, 2011 at 18:45 #

    I find inspiration in my medium — the texture and colour of yarn sometimes beckons it’s purpose, or a piece of fabric and some buttons tell me just what they want to be. A blank piece of paper screams for just the right typography and pattern. :)

  10. Daphne June 8, 2011 at 20:41 #

    I got lots of inspirations on blogs and Pinterest of course! As a scrapbooker I need to look for my mojo from time to time!

  11. Carolyn June 9, 2011 at 07:27 #

    Colour and texture in nature. When you get up and personnel with nature you’ll be suprised what you find!

  12. Pomona June 9, 2011 at 21:28 #

    For me, inspiration comes from all sorts of places: from the plants in my garden, or the birds there; sometimes from the fabric or yarn stashed in my cupboards, and sometimes from books, but it always seems to come down to colour, and how colours work together, and speak to me.

    Pomona x

  13. Melissa June 10, 2011 at 18:33 #

    Oh wow! I’d love to win this issue! I’ve been drooling over it since I saw it on the Dottie Angle blog, just wish it was available in Canada.

    I’m definitely inspired by blogs and people on etsy who are able to turn their craft and passion into a career!

    Melissa5880(at)gmail(dot)com

  14. Tina June 13, 2011 at 16:42 #

    I am inspired by nature and colour.

  15. Bell June 13, 2011 at 23:26 #

    I get inspiration from crafting with friends and throwing ideas around. And books – lots of books!!

  16. viv wild June 15, 2011 at 10:25 #

    I’d really love to win the copy of Mollie Makes – I have tried everywhere to get one without any luck what so ever. I am going to have to subscribe as it seems no where in Ipswich stocks it

  17. Bronwyn Hayes June 15, 2011 at 10:50 #

    Would love, love, love to win.
    I’m inspired by old children’s book illustrations, illustrator Mary Engelbreit and my garden.
    Fingers crossed….

  18. Sharlene Rosson June 15, 2011 at 11:44 #

    Ooo I’d love love love this magazine!! I’ve been looking for it for a few days now as I missed it -_-
    Good Idea to give away old magazines, I keep old magazines myself and I think giving them away online is such a great idea!!

    I’ll make you an apple cozy if can have it ^_^

    Peace

  19. buebauAna June 15, 2011 at 18:13 #

    I’ve just found out this mag and it looks so gorgeous!!
    What inspires me… beautiful images, colorful fabrics and nature, without a boubt.

    Thanks for the chance of winning this..
    Hugs
    Ana
    buebau@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

